Sunday, March 22, 2026

My Next Trip

Two years ago CC took me on a Happy 60th Birthday trip.  We have been huge fans of zombies ever since grade school and watching Night of the Living Dead (original).  We live about a 3 hour drive from where that was filmed.  For my birthday we were going to go to the cemetery where the opening scene was filmed and then from there we would find things to do in and around Pittsburgh.  It turned out to be a fabulous trip that you can read  more about HERE.

Last year I wanted to go again; CC had a family thing already planned for that weekend so she couldn't go; but I planned the weekend and went all by myself.  I had a BLAST and met so many nice people (you're really never alone there).  You can read that adventure HERE.

I've decided to go again by myself this year (I really don't think CC enjoyed it quite as much as I did that first year).  I like to go to see Greg Nicotero.  They haven't announced his presence yet, and considering the theme this year (as he was too young to be an actor/special effects at that time), he may not be attending BUT that doesn't matter; it will be a fun event regardless.

This year's theme is Dawn of the Dead (the original one).  It was filmed in the mall where the event is held!  I again got a VIP ticket for the weekend and that, this year, includes a screening on Friday night in the mall theaters of (what else) Dawn of the Dead!!

The Monroeville Mall was sold last year to Walmart.  Walmart's plans are to tear it down and build a Walmart and strip mall.  No one wants this; but it looks as though it is past the fighting phase.  This will probably be the last Living Dead Weekend at this location.  There are dozens of cast members of this movie attending; so it's a pretty big deal!  And it's why I want to attend, Nicotero or not 😊!

They have a lot packed into the weekend.  I've opted out of another behind the scenes mall tour - I did that last year and since tours are limited, decided others deserve the chance.  The drive up is tiring to begin with.  I'll go straight to the mall on Friday to get my arm band and just see the vendors and celebrities and work out my game plan.  Then off to hotel check-in and some much needed rest before a pre-movie party, the movie and whatever else is planned.  I think I'm going to need an hour or two of sleep before the evening festivities as it will be a late night!

I'm so looking forward to this trip!!

The Living Dead Weekend


Friday, March 20, 2026

Creating Me

 "Finding My Laura" exists due to a weight loss journey.  "Finding My Laura" should be more than weight loss.

I mean, isn't there more to me than just a number on the scale?  I think there definitely should be.  What good is the "Weight Laura" if the rest of "Laura" doesn't exist.

I need to stop defining myself by my weight.

Don't get me wrong; I am on a weight loss journey and will continue to be and that will always be a topic here; but the rest of me is going to start being a topic as well.  All the little bits and pieces that make me "Me".  I don't need to "Find Laura"; I just need to start picking up the pieces and putting her back together.

Weight Update:  I'm still stuck and have decided to start weighing myself weekly instead of daily - it just sets my mood for the day and well if the scale isn't being my friend; I won't have a good day.

Topics you may find from this point forward:  Travel; Movies, TV, Walks, Family, Friends, Pets, Favorite Restaurants and what I eat there; all the little things that create Me!

Come join me and Create Yourself!

Friday, March 13, 2026

Well, Hello!

Yeah, I know it's been awhile.....

I'm still maintaining in and around that 5 lb mark.....it gets so frustrating.  I was at the Doctor yesterday and I have some borderline things in the bloodwork but nothing to get worried over.  Of course, some weight loss would help improve those areas.

I shared with him how I struggle with weight loss; he totally understands those struggles.  He asked where I wanted to go from here.....I told him I did not want to do medications.  He understood that as well; but said he always asks as he has discovered that people are afraid to ask about those options.  He told me with the weather changing for the better; to get more exercise in.  He was sure I already know how to eat healthier.  He's right, I do.

So that's where I am right now; hoping to keep moving forward. 

Monday, March 2, 2026

A Work In Progress

 From my last post you can see I FINALLY hit the first 5 lbs mark.  I know it's not a lot; but I was so happy to get to the milestone.  I signed back up on December 24th, though it was probably closer to January 1st before I officially started.  I am using my weight on December 24th as my starting point.

My weight has been up and down and all around.  This past week though it's been chipping at those .2 losses and it finally got to a milestone!

I'm really happy about that and am so glad that I held on.

I didn't do a whole lot of "changes" to make it happen either.  As a matter of fact I started frying my meat again.  Yep - FRYING IN OIL.  The cuts of meat are zero, so I just count for the oil.  Fried meat tastes so good - I had forgotten how good it is, YUM!

I have not been doing my exercise though - that may have made more of a loss; but I'm a work in progress.

Sunday, March 1, 2026

YAY ME!


Just wanted to pop in and say, I FINALLY got to add a charm!!

Onto the next 5 lb mark....





Sent from my Galaxy

Sunday, February 22, 2026

It Doesn't Make Sense

I hate snow.

I guess a very long time ago, when I was a child, I may have enjoyed it.  I suppose I liked getting out of school, making a snowman and such; but as I grew, my hate for snow also grew.

We had about 8 inches of snow 2 weeks ago, topped with ice.  It just causes a mess.  Yesterday, it was pretty much completely gone and a very lovely day.  Today, well it's snowing.

Sigh....

Weight loss is still ongoing.  Shapa took me right into Dark Gray for a day or two...now I'm back up to Teal.  None of it makes sense, because I'm basically maintaining and that means my Shapa color should be Green.

I'm still not at that first 5 lb loss.  Everything seems so pointless.....

Saturday, February 14, 2026

Today

Where to begin?  I'm still pretty much stuck within the same 2 lbs in either direction with no real success.  I haven't given up but I'm sort of losing my spark.

I don't know what to do.

Today is a rather nice day and I may get a walk in later. 




Saturday, February 7, 2026

Sigh.....

So here I am a week in on All In Mode and Shapa has taken me from Blue to Light Gray in that week.  That's not good; weight wise I'm pretty much the same-which makes me question Shapa, shouldn't it have me in Green for maintaining?

I really don't understand the new WW; I feel so stupid to have rejoined again and am stuck in a program that just isn't working for me.  In case you are wondering - I was meeting all the specs in All In Mode and I wasn't going over in points.  My weight just isn't moving.

For now I'm going back to the Lose Mode and work on trying to get the weight moving.  I'm going to go back and add the old Daily Healthy Guidelines that WW use to ask you to follow:  3-5 servings of fruits and/or vegetables; 6 servings of water/liquid; 2 servings of dairy; 2 healthy oils and a mulit-vitamin.  I also want to meet my daily fiber and protein goals (which I normally do). 

Yes I know I still need to exercise and such and I will do that.  It's just so depressing that things just aren't working.


Friday, February 6, 2026

I Just Can't Lose

I just can't seem to get to that 5 lb loss!  It's so aggravating!  Normally when you start a weight loss program you lose that fairly fast.  Not this girl, grrrr.......

I'm just stuck on the point this or point that loss and gains.

I've decided to give the all in mode a try for at least a week.  If you have the new app and can't change the mode; log out of the app and back in and then try.  That's what worked for me.

All In Mode screen will look a little different wanting you to aim for Protein, Fiber and Water Goals.  Slide that screen to the left to get your points.  Basically you only have your daily points.  No weeklies; I'm unsure about activity at this point.  So you really have to rely on the zero point list.